Strand News

VOLUNTEER ASSOCIATION | Textile Museum of Canada

John Alexander, Shop Manager, Retires

John Alexander, AlexanderArts, Textile Museum of Canada, Strandnews.ca

John Alexander (at right), with Peter during a trip to Pelee Island

As I started out saying at the TMC Volunteers AGM… imagine 13 years ago… May 2000. I was 40 pounds lighter, smoked a pack-and-a-half a day, was single, had never been overseas and couldn’t knit. Well I still can’t knit.

It was my way of trying to make light of a decision that was long in coming and difficult to make. As you read this, I will have retired as the shop manager at the Textile Museum. As many of you know, I had a back injury almost two years ago, and it has been a long road to recovery. My decision to retire has basically been to look after my health and get my mobility back. I will miss all of your smiles and conversation because, when I started at the Museum so long ago, I not only gained a job, but a new family of sisters (and a few brothers, too).

I’m pleased to say that, with your dedication and support, the Shop has generated over $1 million for the Museum during the time I was the manager. It’s an accomplishment we can all be proud of. I couldn’t have done it without your help and support, and that’s something I will never forget and will always be thankful for.

I will be around the Museum two days a week for a while to help train our interim shop manager, June Lee. I trust you will make her feel as welcome as you made me feel.

I‘m hoping to do more photography and perhaps more ceramics with all the time I will have on my hands. (I know, I already have enough projects to fill two retirements.)

Some of you have asked about staying in touch: I hope that you will want to, and will come see what I’ve been up to when I do a show. You can also drop me a line at alexanderarts@sympatico.ca, and I can add you to my mailing list.

Mostly I want to say thank you to all of the Museum volunteers… for great conversations, listening and learning, hard work, lots of smiles, and occasionally a shoulder to cry on. It has been a wonderful journey that I will be forever grateful for.

Thank You. Thank You. Thank You.

John

About Strand News

Strand News is the online meeting place for members of the Volunteer Association of the Textile Museum of Canada. Our annual fundraisers, including the Textile Bazaar, support Museum programs and exhibitions.

Leave a Reply

Volunteer Handbook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

